Survey Under Tree Canopies

Hello all,
I am a beginner to the Reach systems, so my apologies if I am asking obvious questions…

What are the best practices when surveying underneath tree canopies?
My end goal is to be able to have accurate (~1m error) tree locations in a forest plot.

I have access to a Emlid RS (RRS-1), and a Emlid RTK GPS Module with a Antenna Factor Series SH High performance GPS antenna…
Currently, I have only been able to get “single” solutions, but I would prefer “float” if at all possible.

Is it possible/be better to set up the Reach RS in an open field ~1.2km away with good sky view, and take the RTK Module into the woods? If so, what setup/settings would I need to get “float” points?

What other information would be pertinent for you all?
-Spiwak

Robotic Total Station, have Jolly Green Giant open the canopy up or burn / chop the trees down (what do we need them for anyways?) ; )

GPS / GNSS needs good clear view of sky to work.

Could I leave the Reach RS ~1.2km away in an open field while I take the RTK module into the Forest?
Will the two units remain connected?
-Spiwak

Not sure it works that way… the ROVER (your Reach antenna) has to also have clear view of sky to triangulate. SInce you only have one Reach RS the other doesn’t have LoRa radio to communicate so have to use another form of communication connection. i.e. tcp, ntrip but even if so, no clear view of sky.

The base would be fine obviously. You can always try it to see if you get sufficient accuracy.
I think there is a limit to the antenna height… obviously you couldn’t get it as high over the canopy. Drone? But again, I think a limit to antenna height.

maybe others will REAL knowledge will jump in shortly. Might be able to use “other” methods to OFFSET? But maybe crazy mess. TB_RTK has a thread on something like this with a DISTO.

not sure even FLOAT will get ~1m accuracy also.

here is a great source for information:

Hi @spiwakd

Hope, this thread will help you.