Establishing a base coordinate without a reference

I am a new user. I have read most of the docs as well as a number of threads here on the community forum. I am a retired mechanical engineer with a fair bit of programming experience. I am now farming and trying to setup an RTK system to support on-farm equipment guidance as well as property boundary location. But I am new to surveying and to using a gps. I also confess that I have acquired a pair of M2 units as well as two Helix antennas and two LoWra radios, but I have not assembled or tested the system yet. I plan to do that shortly. For now, I am working my way through what needs to be done to achieve good results.

I understand that I don’t need accurate gps positioning for farming applications like spraying, fertilizing, planting, and plowing. I only need precision perhaps to plus or minus 2" or so. On the other hand, I do need accuracy to locate survey stakes and establish property boundaries. It’s Important to understand that farmers in my area like to relocate survey stakes in their favour so I want to be able to know if they are properly located before creating any needless arguments.

I do have access to a nearby concrete survey monument that I can use to establish a good reference location and coordinates.

I am thinking that I could install my planned RTK base, let it figure out where it is using its averaging function on its own, then accurately locate the rover over the cement monument, and then manually adjust the base location parameters until the rover coordinates become accurate. But I cannot figure out how to do this from the available information. Maybe it’s something that will become more obvious with time, but the planting season is fast approaching and I’d like to get my system up and running as soon as possible.

Can anyone point me at what I may have missed and perhaps also correct any misunderstandings you think I might have about how this works?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like