RS2 rover won’t fix with manual base coordinate

This is my first time entering a manual base coordinate. I usually do average single for the base location but want absolute accuracy now. My rover unit keeps switching back and forth from single to float, the corrections input coming from LoRa switches back and forth from receiving corrections and waiting for corrections. The baseline is reading as in the 200s of meters even though my rover is roughly 5 meters away.

1 Like

Maybe send the system reports to support@emlid.com or upload here if you want, but be aware may be sensitive info in the files. I.e. your location. (But already provided).

That way the settings can be looked at to find what is wrong.

1 Like

My height was incorrect. I set up the unit to do average single, once the location was accumulated I copied that height and used it for my manual height along with my known Lat/Long. Is the height ellipsoid height? I’m unfamiliar with this term and not sure how to calculate it for future known points.

2 Likes

Yep, you need to input elipsoid height when using a manual base coordinate

3 Likes

If I’m given an elevation, how do I calculate ellipsoid height? I’m not very familiar with geoid, orthometric, or ellipsoid height. This seems very complicated to me.

1 Like

You can start here for manual conversions:

“NGS Coordinate Conversion and Transformation Tool (NCAT)” NGS Coordinate Conversion and Transformation Tool (NCAT)

There is a lot to learn. It’s a journey. It’s not too complicated, but you need to make sure not to mix things up. I.e. feet to meters, Northings and Eastings, etc etc.

I am not really using ReachView 3, (I use FieldGenius for all that), but you should be able to use RV3 with your horizontal coordinate system needed (NAD83) and your vertical datum (NAVD88) and GEOID. (GEOID18). In AZ.

3 Likes