Need help understanding RS2 and PPK

Hello there,

I’ll start by saying I am very new to using GPS for mapping. I am learning this for work and trying to teach myself but I’ve come across a few roadblocks. Basically, the setup I have is two Reach RS2s, one rover one base. We use these for mapping significant points in fields and we put these surveys into ArcGIS to create maps. We use PPK for our corrections.

1. What I am struggling with is, I want to get a FIX status for my surveys, but even when I set my survey rule to FIX I only ever get SINGLE. I thought I would just need to wait for a FIX status but after waiting in one spot for 20 minutes I still didn’t get anything. I wonder if I am doing something wrong or if the conditions were not right? I have attempted on multiple different days in different conditions and have never achieved FIX. Any insight into this would be great, I can provide more information as needed.

2. When I actually go to post process the files, it seems to go fine. I get all the way up to the point where I get a finished .pos file from rtkpost but I dont know what to do from there. It doesn’t seem that ArcGIS accepts .pos files from the research I have done so is there a way to get the .pos files converted into either .csv or .shp?

Any insight into either of these problems would really help. I’m a bit overwhelmed with all this new stuff I have to learn and not sure I fully understand everything yet!

Thanks!
-Alec

1 Like

Hi, @Vaati, welcome to Emlid Community!

Did you follow the base and rover setup that Emlid makes available in the documentation?

RTKPOST only generates the .pos file as a result, in the WGS 84 coordinate system. You can copy the processing result (LAT, LONG and height) to a text file and use it in any software that accepts import in this way.

The columns sdn(m), sde(m) and sdu(m) are the standard deviations of the adjustment result.