APM does not autostart on boot

Hi, everybody

I just install APM on RPI 2 following this tutorial and get MissionPlanner connected. Everything works fine except the “Autostarting APM on boot” does not work.I have to login in through SSH and start APM manually.

Does anybody know how to fix it?

Thanks

Auto start works by attached rc.local.

“#!/bin/sh -e
”#
"# rc.local
"#
"# This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
"# Make sure that the script will “exit 0” on success or any other
"# value on error.
"#
"# In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
"# bits.
"#
"# By default this script does nothing.

"# Print the IP address
_IP=$(hostname -I) || true
if [ “$_IP” ]; then
printf “My IP address is %s\n” "$_IP"
fi

sudo ArduCopter-quad -A udp:192.168.11.2:14550 -C /dev/ttyAMA0

exit 0

thanks Jiro

It works! :sunglasses:

Hi Jiro (or anyone out there),

I’m experiencing the same problem as described above. I’m an absolute newb to raspi, but I do know my way around APM. When I modify my rc.local file into what you are suggesting, I have no luck. I am still presented with a logon screen and when I log on, no APM is started.

I am making the modifications to rc.local directly on the raspberry pi 2.

I noticed that the Navio+ guide is suggesting a bit different code from what you have. The bold part below.
Is there any reason why you omitted this bit of code?

sudo ArduCopter-quad -A udp:192.168.1.2:14550 -C /dev/ttyAMA0 > /home/pi/startup_log &

I am expecting not to have to log in to the raspi anymore, when this is working properly. Is that the case? Or will I still have to login every time I power up the board?

Your help is much appreciated.

Hi

The > /home/pi/startup_log will log the output from APM into startup_log file. Could be convenient if you have an issue.
The & will run the program the background.

Try to paste this line of code directly into PI shell after you have logged in. Does the APM start?