Using RS3 in Trimble Access

Hello,

I am a surveyor in France, doing topographic surveys as well as construction survey and stakeout.

I currently have a Trimble R12i but without a radio module and I am using Trimble Access on a TSC5.

Until now I always used VRS Now and it worked fine.
I considered buying a RS3 to act as a base on site for my R12i with Emlid Caster to increase precision also for drone mapping projects.

Some of my customers are working with Trimble base stations (Zephyr 3, SPS 785, …) via radio. I can’t connect my R12i to those because I haven’t got a radio receiver in the R12i.

I thought that I could use a RS3 to connect to those bases in Lora. But my concern is about working with it in Access. I know that Emlid flow can do a lot but I would prefer using Access as I am very familiar with it and I use feature codes a lot.

Is the RS3 supported in Access to work in Lora with Trimble bases ?
How hard is to configure that and is it reliable as it is a third party receiver ?
Is anyone using a RS3 as a base with Emlid Caster for a R12 in Access ?

I don’t think Emlid Lora is compatible with Trimble 900Mhz.

Emlids solution for integrating into existing environments is the UHF option, but the base would then require the UHF transmitter, and it would need to be configured for TRIMTALK450S & RTCM3. Most current Trimble environments would also likely be running the later more compact CMR rather than RTCM so something to check with the base people.

If you are within mobile coverage NTRIP might be a better option as the base should be able to be configured to run NTRIP concurrently with the existing 900mhz.