Shift in the local coordinates

Hello,

I am not sure if this ever been addresses here in the community but my question is the following. I have done several tests over the known reference points and unfortunately the measurement over one of them has a considerable shift both in horizontal (~40cm) and vertical (~15cm) direction. The reason for this shift appeared to be an earthquake that happened in the area. A company that provides us with the RTK correction said that because of the earthquake, people who measure there are using some local calibration file in their Trimble devices. I am not sure how to approach this problem with Emlid because I am not a professional surveyor. The next measured known point in the 30 km distance does not have this shift so it looks like the shift is local and decreases the farther we go from the impacted area. The earthquake happened in 2008.

Anyone worked in the similar environment and have some suggestions to what can be possibly done in this case?

Cheers

1 Like

Then don’t use that one?

The problem is that it applies to the whole town and the nearby areas. I just used that particular point to chech the measurement. We need to find the way to correct for these discrepancies. The guys that use trimble have some calibration file for the whole are but I have no idea how I can utilize this in my measurements with emlid.

I am just started to research this issue and there is a lot of things that I am learning along the way.

1 Like

Contact NGS, they will know what what to do if anything. I suspect this is operator error on the provider side.

I’ve never heard of this at all

2 Likes

Seems like a new permanent reference mark would of had to have been established even if in fact the mark was disturbed? If the others check out nearby, then you could temporarily set or compare using the data on record prior to it being disturbed?