Reach RS2 for Drone Mapping with DJI Phantom 4 RTK

Emlid team has tested DJI Phantom 4 RTK with Reach RS2 as a base station. Phantom 4 RTK receives all corrections from Reach RS2 over NTRIP and gets instant and reliable fixes in the field.

In the case of RTK mapping, precise georeferencing of the photos occurs in real-time. The DJI RTK drone needs to get corrections during the flight from the base station with the NTRIP caster. That requirement makes Reach RS2 a comprehensive fit for the flight mission.

We gathered all the information about how to get started with this bundle for you. We tested this workflow with Phantom 4 RTK, but it also will work with any RTK-enabled drone from DJI. Check out the detailed guide about integrating Phantom 4 RTK and Reach RS2 in our docs!

13 Likes

Very nice article! Thanks.

Hi,

I’m a beginner at this, so apologies if there any obvious flaws in my thinking.

In this article the RS2 is the base and then in communication with the drone (which is acting as a rover) it can send the corrected position in real time to write to the exif of the photo.

In the article just published featuring Christian Greuner he speaks of using a second RS2 as the rover and fixing GCP’s and Checkpoints. I think that article said 15-120 seconds was typical to get a fix for the rover.

My two questions:

1. Given that the drone is traveling at x m/s and thus the position needs to be written nearly instantly, how will the absolute accuracies of the two methods compare given than an RS2 rover needs much more time to figure out the position?

2. Could this article’s method integrate the use of checkpoints by just taking a set of photos from around a site and then pulling the position data from those? Or would that not be “independent” enough?

tia.

2 Likes

I’m no official source, but I have a couple observations.