Reach nmea rs232 output with rfd900+ ag GPS guidance

Hi,

I’m a farmer in australia and I’m currently putting together an agricultural GPS guidance system and automatic section controller for my sprayer and seeder. I’ve purchased an emlid reach rtk pair and a pair of RF Design 900+ radios which are currently hooked up via uart and I’m powering the reach unit by USB.

What I need help with is the software for my guidance system requires nmea strings gga, vtg and rmc to be fed in via serial rs232 and I’m wondering if other people have done this? Can I use a uart/serial adapter like this

Or do I need something a bit more upmarket?

Can I have the rfd radio communicating via the uart port and then also run the nmea output via the other uart port? Or will I have to do something with usb?

The reason for rs232 output is because a lot of pre existing agricultural gps equipment communicates via rs232 and I’m trying to make my system backwards-compatible with older gear but it will be handy to have the Bluetooth if I ever decide to try an android guidance app.

I am using plastic enclosures and patch cables to create something that is hopefully going to be weatherproof for both base and rover. The rover is going to be moved between vehicles and once the automatic base initialisation fix is sorted it will be very handy.

I am using a dual boot tablet for my display but I think my software will be running on windows.

Are there any tips to getting maximum range out of the rfd900+? My other rtk GPS autosteer uses freewave fgr900 radios and we can get 10+km in flat country (almost line of sight) and 5km in undulating/hilly country with trees etc. is there any chance of being able to do this with the rfd radios? Before anyone asks, correction by cell isn’t an option because our mobile reception isn’t good enough.

I can find my way around a few things but I wouldn’t call myself a real techead by a long way. Any hints/tips/suggestions/advice is appreciated.

Cheers
Mark

2 Likes