PPK without ground control points

I’m still learning with the ppk process. I’m using phantom 4 pro. and equipped with tally antenna and reach m+

has anyone tried a large area without GCP and get high accuracy for the flights?
also wondering what’s the best settings for pix4dcapture to fly grid in scenario?
has anyone got report with GCP tied up with PPK processed and procedures to compare?

is there any other method to improve accuracy without ground work?

thanks!

Hi, we use Ph4 pro with reach m+ and make 10-15 square km without GCPs per day.
Accuracy is 5-6 cm.
Flight velocity is 10 ms, Altitude is 150-170 meters.

hey van,

do you have any processing or procedures you can share?
if you do have could you send me an email?

how do you fly and process?
so no GCP or no ground work at all?

thank you

Those are tight specs for mapping. The most consistent setup is 18mph at 260ft which creates about a 75% overlap.

Do you mean frontal overlap because of the image frequency? I think Metashape recommends 80/60% frontal/side overlap. I would go for more than 65% side overlap.

I think it would be a miracle if flying at 170m and 10m/s with a Phantom can result in an accuracy higher than 2 px. I would be very interested to see examples.

If you want to map with a Phantom I would have a look at the Ashot solution.

If you work with LEDs and photoresistors: have you found my timemark time machine?

Those flight numbers come from many flights using Litchi with both a Yuneec H520 and a P4P. Flying lower produces better resolution, but does not necessarily mean it is a more accurate map. The higher you fly the more tie-points you get and the better that the stitching is. You just have to get your overlaps dialed in. For efficiency sake 75 front and 65 side may be at the lower end, but it also allows me to fly most of my sights with one battery.

hey i’m curious about your setup as you said
could you please give me more details?