Navigation for Autonomous Vehicle

Hello everyone. I’m an undergraduate student doing a final project. My final project is making a system for Autonomous Golf Cart. I plan to buy Reach RS+ for making the navigation system. I’m going to use single board computer (SBC) with Python as the programming language. In order to make sure, I want to ask some questions :

1. Do I really need two Reach RS+ for a good navigation ?
  2. Does it still work if I only use Reach RS+ ?
  3. Do I need any accessory for Reach RS+ (like damping platform or cable) ?
  4. Could Python access the position of the rover continously (real time) ?

Thank you for your answer and support.

I don’t know much about the integration with your systems, but it seems to me like you could use an M+ or better yet wait for the M2 (mobile receiver) and Tallysman antenna?

1 Like

Thank you for your answer.
So, you suggest me to use one Reach RS+ as a base and one Reach M+/M2 as a rover instead of two Reach RS+ ?

That would be my guess depending on the end goal. Maybe an M+/M2 as the base as well.

Great. I can reduce the navigation cost. Thank you for your suggestion

Just remember that might indeed save on the initial cost of purchase, but given the M+ Solution is a diy kit in terms of components, you might have to spend some time of tweaking it. Tweaking that is already done to the RS+/RS2.
So you may end up spending just as much money in time, as you saved on the initial purchase.

What about Navio?

Hi Fadillah,

Sorry for the delayed response!

To obtain centimeter accuracy, you need to receive corrections from the base. It can be either a local Reach RS+ base or a remote NTRIP station.

The standalone receiver provides an accuracy of several meters only. For centimeter accuracy, as I’ve mentioned above, your rover needs to receive corrections. In case of the NTRIP connection via the Internet, you don’t need another unit set as a base.