LoRa high age of differential - M2 Base / R2 Rover

Hi everyone, Emlid newbie here. I could use help with getting LoRa working on some new equipment.
I’ve had an R2 since November, working decently well on NTRIP here in Northern California. But between long baselines and spotty cellular coverage, I could really my own base station.
I decided to go with an M2 and Beitian BT-300 antenna.
I can’t seem to get a stable connection, testing the setup in my backyard. I start with the default settings, adjust the base output settings so the gps corrections are transmitting at 1hz, I’ve tried a handful of LoRa frequencies. The R2 Rover shows as connected and receiving corrections, but the age of differential bounces from 3 seconds 30 seconds or longer.
I’m not quite sure how to trouble shoot or where to go next. Thanks!
(Cross posted to the facebook group)

What is your lora bit rate set to, and what messages are you sending at what interval?

9.11 kb/s, ARP at 0.1, MSM4s all at 1 Hz.

Increase to 18 kb/s and you should have no problems.

I’m thinking the problem may have more to do with the antenna or cable. I set it up for another test, and now the base can’t maintain float long enough for a two minute position average. It gets 10 to 30 seconds max, then blips to single, and the average resets. Do I need RTKlib to look at the antenna/receiver data?

Hi @deltakev,

Please try out these RTCM3 message combinations:

• ARP 1006 0.1 Hz + GPS 1074 0.5 Hz + GLONASS 1084 0.5 Hz
  • ARP 1006 0.1 Hz + GPS 1074 0.5 Hz + Galileo 1094 0.5 Hz
  • ARP 1006 0.1 Hz + GPS 1074 0.5 Hz + Beidou 1124 0.5 Hz

If the age of differential rises, please record these logs for 10-15 minutes and send them to me:

• raw data on the base and rover
  • base corrections on the rover
  • position on the rover
1 Like