Land Survey Possible? post process?

Hi, Im a land surveyor, and i have experience (10 years) using gnss equipment for land surveying, my land survey equipment have a millimeter accuracy in RTK, but they cost around $20,000 USD, and the drones on the market for photogrametric collection cost the triple or more.

I think there is a huge market for this product in this area (land survey). but it needs to emerge with somebody that know land survey and somebody that knows how to program this RTK and GNSS data, because i get lost with all the interactions that this product can have or the programming code options.

i would like to know if this raw data can be post-processed to get millimetric measurements.

2 Likes

Hi,

what you are talking about surely is an interesting market opportunity. Though we are usually talking about centimeter accuracy rather than millimeter with this type of “hobby” equipment (I mean Emlid products for example) and the overall “hobby industry”. The level of accuracy probably goes back to more factors like following:

1. RTK hardware quality (GNSS modules and antennas used)
  2. RTK software quality
  3. surveying software quality
  4. surveying know-how
  5. external conditions like weather etc.

I think that with surveying there may usually be multiple GNSS (GPS) bands/frequencies used (not only L1, but also L2 etc.) where you get much better accuracy but for multiple bands the cost of receivers and antennas then skyrockets probably (from $100s to $1000s). The hobby market mostly is single frequency equipment (like GPS L1) and the receivers are mass produced so the cost can by driven down. The question is whether one could create a reasonable surveying equipment with a single frequency hardware.

Regarding post processing to get millimeter precision - surely the output of hobby equipment can be postprocessed but I am not sure about the best precision. Why is a millimeter precision needed for land surveying? Centimeters are not enough?