High School Drone Project

Hey everyone! My name’s Logan Steiner, and I’m a new high school Engineering teacher. I’ve been working a lot with VEX robotics at the high school level, but I want to push my more experienced students a little further with a project that revolves around drones. First off, let it be known that I have no experience creating drones, so this will be a learning experience for myself as well. My idea is to create a step-by-step video tutorial that helps students create their own RC drones. Mostly, I would like them to create their own bodies for the parts to go on, but we’ll tackle that when we get there.

Here are the very basic materials that we will be using for our drones:
-Raspberry Pi 3
-Navio2
-Turnigy 9XR Pro radio control system
-FrSky 8XR telemetry

Again, my main goal is to more-so create a drone that is simply controlled by the Turnigy radio control system (because the school’s wifi most likely will give us problems).

Starting off, I have found a lot of useful guides online, but I’m still struggling when it comes to setting up the software and raspberry pi with the proper Arducopter-quad build. I have my Navio2 connected to the internet via ethernet cable, and I am able to successfully go through this step:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

But after this, I’m lost. I realize I need to connect to my Ground Control Station (Mission Planner) in order to flash the Arducopter-quad onto the Navio2, but when I try to connect the two, it times out due to no connection detected. Both the Navio2 and the computer with Mission Planner are connected to the school’s internet via ethernet, so shouldn’t that be working?

I appreciate any and all help with this project of mine. If you need any pictures of my setup or anything at all, please feel free to ask.

All the best,

Logan

Hi,

first thing you should do is read through docs.emlid.com, let it sink in and read again.