Help Needed with Purchasing Reach RS2

Hello:

I am a UAV operator who is looking to achieve high-accuracy mapping.

My understanding is that, with the use of ground control points and a GNS base station and rover, I will be able to achieve survey-grade accuracy, specifically absolute accuracy. Will the Reach RS2 Survey Kit (2 RS2 units) achieve this? Or is this system different from rover and base systems from Leica and Trimble for instance?

I have also been looking into the purchase of Propeller Aeropoints for this purpose.

Thanks in advance and my apologies in advance for my lack of knowledge on this subject.

Kindest regards,

Grayson

I think you would be much better served with the base and rover setup. Remember that you will need a subscription for the aeropoints and it takes them approximately 30 to 40 minutes to provide centimeter accuracy. In that amount of time you could probably set the majority of your ground control points and be done with it. On top of that there is a lot more functionality that you can get into with a base and rover - like PPK when you don’t necessarily need or want to set ground control points or localization if you want to use actual local control. Additionally with that if you are truly trying to present survey-grade “absolute” accuracy you will want to locate hard structures with a rover to supplement your drone survey. The RS2 should be very close to the quality of the Topcon, Trimble and Leica.

2 Likes

Look it’s Luke!

Might as well… you have to place each anyways…then worry about theft.

And save $6000-$10000.

Hi @g_lee,

2 Reach RS2 units are great for placing GCPs with centimeter-level accuracy. Note, that for absolute precision you should place a base unit on a known point.

3 Likes

Hi Tatiana,

Thanks for getting back to me.

What are my options if I do not have a known point on which to the place the base station?

How do I determine the location for the best absolute accuracy?

I am located in Toronto, Canada.