Help! I'm lost! Using an RX with an RS2+ base without NTRIP

I have been using an RX rover with an RS2+ base for about 1 1/2 years now. I can’t use NTRIP because I’m not able to connect my base or rover to a reliable network (too far out in the country). Admittedly it has been awhile since I last set things up, but today was a disaster. I set up my RS2+ over a benchmark and manually entered the benchmark position. Emlid flow connects fine to base.

I then connect to the RX rover over bluetooth and it is clearly not connecting to the base at all. I can’t do my survey because I can’t get a “fix” level of precision. Base station information is not showing up on the rover screen in Emlid Flow, so I’m assuming they’re not talking over loran. Emlid’s web page kept sending me to “page not found” when I sought help.

Does anyone out there have a workflow where I can use the RS2+ as a base station over a known point and the Rx as the rover without NTRIP??? What’s the process to make this work now and has it changed in the past year?

Unfortunately, the RX doesn’t have an internal radio. It is designed to work exclusively with internet access to a NTRIP server.

6 Likes

You’ll have to get another RS2/RS2+ or RS3 that has built in LoRa radios. Or hobble together a M2 with external LoRa radio and antenna. Or if you have a old RS/RS+ you could use that but lower with single band corrections to get the job done.

Maybe Starlink?

3 Likes

Elon Musk is your friend :grinning:

4 Likes

Then why does Emlid sell the RX and the RS2+ as a package, and why do they seem to indicate that they can be used together? This seems to imply that the RS2+ can communicate with the RX, but is this only over a cellular network, not over loran? I am so confused. I’m also a bit surprised because a year ago the RX and the RS2+ seemed to communicate fine and I got excellent results in the same field area without NTRIP. What do you think is going on here?

Nothing is “going on” here.