Getting wonky elevation readings, even after post-processing

Hi everyone, I’m very new to this and still trying to figure out how to get my Reach RS set up and running, so I appreciate all the help I can get in advance!

I’m having problems with the elevations that my receivers are getting: I’m working in an area where I know the elevation to test things out, and getting consistently low (and sometimes quite widely fluctuating) elevations. Horizontal position seems quite good, especially when I get ‘fix’. But, for example, in my front yard which is about 18.5 m asl, it’s saying I’m a couple of meters below sea level. I’ve got a LoRa setup following the Quickstart guide, and connecting to the recievers with a Microsoft Surface tablet through their wifi hotspot, and I have been averaging the base point, but still getting low elevations.

I then questioned if maybe it was normal for the accuracy and precision to be off until post-processing, so I post-processed a test log of data gathered over about an hour, following the Post-Processing tutorial (I did everything the same except I just downloaded the RINEX 3.03 files straight away rather than using RTKCONV). Again, the lat long positioning of the post-processed data looks very nice, but the elevation of the base is still off — its a bit higher: 4.42 m asl, but still nothing close to the real elevation.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what I’m doing wrong here? It’s critical that I get these things set up to record accurate real world elevation within a week!

Thanks so much for any help anyone can give. All the best,
Bryn

Reach is showing you Ellipsoid height. If postprocessing you can apply a simple geoid model, but it can still be of.
Its been asked before here

1 Like

Hey, thanks - that makes sense. But I tried converting the height using this website: https://www.unavco.org/software/geodetic-utilities/geoid-height-calculator/geoid-height-calculator.html