Getting started with a helicopter kit and Navio 2/Ardupilot

Hi guys,

I’d like to play with Ardupilot on some cheap helicopter using Raspberry pi and Navio 2 board. Since I’m a noob in rc models and hardware stuff, I believe my best bet would be to buy a helicopter kit for it.

On Ardupilot docs I found out that it requires 8-channel transmitter/receiver to work.
http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/traditional-heli-parts-list.html
Is transmitter really necessary? Why it cannot just run in autopilot mode?

I will appreciate if somebody can suggest a reasonable setup for my goal.
Many thanks.

There is no such “cheap” thing. If you intend to follow the Ardupilot road with helicopter, without any experience in the hobby, be ready to enlarge your credit reserve.

Marc

Hi Marc, thanks for your reply, but I’m not sure if it is the answer I was looking for.
With “cheap” I ment relatively cheap compared to average hobby rc helicopter price which is, by my observations, somewhere in 800$-1500$ range. What I’m actually looking for is the most reasonable way to have a hans-on experience running a helicopter with Navio/Ardupilot.

At the moment I’m considering Walkera V450D03 as a good choice.

I believe its possible to have ready-to-fly unit for up to 400$. But it usually goes with a 7ch transmitter. Is it a problem for running Ardupilot?

Could somebody suggest any issues I can potentially meet on the way marrying Walkera V450D03 with Navio 2/Ardupilot please?

I would also appreciate any other ideas/suggestions that will resonate with the goal described above.

Hope we can find the solution together.
Thanks in advance.

Hello,

There are some information about helicopter with ardupilot here: https://discuss.ardupilot.org/c/arducopter/traditional-helicopter

It is not Navio specific, but as the software and how to do things is common, it could help you.

Marc

Hi @michaelmichael,