Connecting sonar to navio2

Hello y’all, I’m new to the the quad copter scene and have been reading up on the F450 and checking out its various setups. I have also ordered most of the components to get one off the ground, frame, ESC’s, motors, navio2 ect… Of what I have so far accumulated I have been able to power the navio2 with rPI and get it connected to APMplanner GCS. I also have a power module that came with navio2 hooked up and displaying voltage readings. I was wondering if any one familiar with Navio2’s could assist me on connecting a sonar module and get it working with APMplanner. The one I have is the “Maxbotix LV MaxSonar EZ4 MB1040” which I have been able to power it with the red and black wire’s from the ADC port of the Navio2. What I don’t understand is which wire or pin do I need to connect to get the feedback from the thing?

Or is there a pinout diagram for the navio2 anyone knows of that could maybe help?

Anyways any help would be great, thanks

1 Like

Hi David! This sonar has analog output which can be connected to Navio2 ADC channels in the ADC port (check the labels on the bottom of the board).

Hi FPVdude,

I’ve done some digging around with the navio2 adc too… What I’ve found out so far (copied from another thread):

Mikebert4Mike Beaton2d
@mikhail.avkhimenia - thanks for the response, I’ve got the ADC example working for me now (see below) but I can’t get the data into APM - I’ve tried pin 4 and pin 5 in APM, but no avail.

…hacked C++ ADC example…

I’ve hacked the C++ example to output voltage from all of the channels provided in /sys/kernel/rcio/adc/ reading from each of the 5 files in that dir and outputting thus:
(ch0 | ch1 | ch2 | ch3 | ch4 | ch5)

example output:
4.8320V | 0.0000V | 0.0160V | 0.0220V | 0.0180V | 0.0700V
4.8320V | 0.0000V | 0.0160V | 0.0220V | 0.0320V | 0.0660V
4.8380V | 0.0000V | 0.0260V | 0.0220V | 0.0320V | 0.0660V

So, that gives me a channel mapping thus:

ch0 = always 4.832v
ch1 = always 0v