CAD workflow

Hi Y’all

I purchased two Reach RS+‘s a few months back but was just able to get out and collect data last week for the first time. This is my first time using this equipment and I have watched all of the videos I can find on setup and use of the equipment. the equipment worked great in the field but I can get the data transferred into CAD so I can use it. I was able to export the data into a CSV file and import it into Cad as points. Everything seems to be orientated right but the scale is way off. For example, one of the measurements is coming in at 0.02" but it should be 11’. Any suggestions?

Have a Great Day,

Michael

Hi!

This could be a projection issue. For instance, if you import the points and define their coordinates using the geographic values (latitude & longitude), this would yield very small measurements if the CAD units were, for example, set as millimeters in a cartesian coordinate system.

Have you tried projecting your data first?

What CAD are you using? Did you check the insert units and scale factor (if there is one)?

WOW, Thanks for the quick reply. As far as CAD software, I’m using Autodesk AutoCAD 2020. I tried many different units several different times and the scale is always off. I used WGS 84, EPSG:4326 for my Coordinate System when collecting my data.

If you’re using Reachview 3, you could setup your survey project with a projected system (for instance a local state plane or UTM based system). This would give you easting/northing fields in the exported CSV which could be digested by a CAD more easily. I’m keeping this simplistic and there are more involved checks to do to ensure the measurements you take are correct; getting from 4326 to a planimetric system can be a challenge if you don’t have GIS experience.

2 Likes