Acceptable time for RS+ to get a fixed status

I am very new in the world of GNSS. I am learning as we go. Thus, I am following this topic. I know that the sky and ground obstacles can determine the time that the base and rover can get fix status as well as the number of satellites in view. So, I wanted to ask you, what is an acceptable time to wait for an RTK RS+ to get a fixed status? One time I got fix status, after 5 minutes. And the other day I had to wait around 40 minutes to get fix status. Consider that the climatologic conditions were similar. The time of the day was the only difference.

Hi @deraciao,

Usually, it takes few minutes to achieve a fixed status by Reach RS+. There can be different reasons for time delays, such as environmental conditions, the number of satellites, and the setup of devices.

To investigate why it took 40 minutes for Reach RS+ to get a fixed status, we will need more information about the configuration of your devices and your current workflow.

Please send your logs to support@emlid.com. We need raw data logs from the base and the rover, position log, and base corrections log from the rover.

Base Configuration

Rover Configuration

1 Like

Hi Sergio,

I’ve checked your screenshots. Your current configurations look fine.

I’ve received your email. However, some logs have been dropped due to high weight. Can you send a link to a Google disk folder or upload logs to any sharing service, for example, WeTransfer, and send me this link in an email?

Hi Sergio,

I’ve checked your data and have some results to share:

• Raw data from the base doesn’t look noisy and have enough satellites.

• The corrections log is also looking good and stable.

• Raw data from the rover is a bit noisy, so I have some questions to you:

1. What was the antenna height during the survey?

2. What were the environmental conditions around your working area?

The data looks like the rover doesn’t have enough sky visibility.