Wobbles erratically, flips over, never leaves the ground

1. Ardupilot 4.1.2 QuadCopter, X setup.

2. I’ve been trying for a few days now, the Quadcopter will not stabilize. It wobbles around and given enough throttle, it just flips over. Per motor check, motors are in correct order,

C (CW) A (CCW)

B (CCW) D (CW)

Correct props on corresponding motors.

I’ve gone through the Mandatory calibrations and setups. I’m new to Navio2 and Ardupilot, but not new to building and flying quadcopters. I feel I must be missing something with the configuration or setup. Any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated.

I can provide additional details as needed. 2021-12-14 15-31-03.bin (1.1 MB)

Hi Scott,

Welcome to our forum!

I can suggest going through the list in the ArduPilot guide describing how to troubleshoot a similar issue first. These steps can be really helpful in determining what went wrong.

HI, thanks for the suggestions. I have gone through the list and everything checks out properly. The only question I have is :

• Have you checked all your sensors in the Mission Planner to make sure the hardware is working right?

I believe all the sensors are working right but the statement is a little vague.

Hi Scott,
could be linked to excess vibrations.
Did you balance your props?
X-axis is alright but Y axis exceeds the max. value of 30.

Thanks for giving the logs a look, thats interesting insight. I’m new to understanding this platform and curious about “x” vibration excesses vs. “y”. Any blogs or articles to help me understand that better?

As a general rule x and y vibrations should be below 30, however, z is often somewhat higher as linked to rate of climb and type of propeller being used + a few additional factors. (frame, motor-mount, power of motors,…).
There is also the possibility of filtering certain vibrations out - This is called notch filtering.
But needless to say, its much better fixing the actual cause than trying to just fix the symptom.