Using Reach RS+ to sample field points with submeter accuracy without known base location

I’m experienced with GIS but am new to learning about RTK and GNSS in general. I’m a soil scientist working in Saskatchewan, Canada. I need to be able to visit predetermined (but unmarked) points in the field with ~1 m accuracy. I will be mostly on foot at the sites. I think the EOS Arrow 100 with its concurrent multi-constellation use and real-time SBAS corrections would be well suited to this work. But I became aware of the Reach RS+, which is very reasonably priced – 2 units is cheaper than one of the EOS Arrow 100 units. Would I be able to achieve similar accuracy with one or two Reach RS+ units – without a known location for the base? I will be visiting many sites – none of which I will have known coordinates for the base. I know the Reach RS+ uses SBAS, but as far as I understand, it requires post-processing, which would not inform me locating the predetermined sample points while in the field. I am not very familiar with the RTK network in Canada – it looks fairly sparse in Saskatchewan https://webapp.geod.nrcan.gc.ca/geod/data-donnees/rtk.php?locale=en and subscription fees are likely not feasible.

Can the Reach RS+ work as a field GNSS unit for my purposes? Beyond the price difference, there’s also the potential in the future that we would be doing some UAV work, which the Reach could be used for.

Thanks

Do you require relative or absolute accuracy? Relative accuracy is maintaining that all they points are in relation to each other on their own as designed and absolute accuracy is the the design is precisely located geographically in relation to the rest of the world.

The accuracy that you can achieve with the Reach units is centimeter level whereas the Arrow 100 is marketed as “submeter”. It may be ok for GIS, so it is really up to you what you are ok with.