Using 3 or 4 Reach GPS Units as Compass, IMU, etc

Hi there, I’m new to the RTK game and still finding my way around the REACH modules, but I was wondering if anyone has tried or knows a way that can allow us to use 3 or 4 gps units to measure:

1. Yaw
  2. Pitch
  3. Roll
  4. Acceleration

Instead of using magnetometers, accelerometers, etc…

Regards
Jason

You know Reach has a built-in IMU, right? Regardless, I don’t think it would take a lot to bring in the position log from three Reach units and process their relative positions into vectors. Acceleration of pitch, roll, and yaw, sure, but if you want acceleration of the vehicle relative to the earth, then you need a fourth GPS as a fixed base station on the ground somewhere.

So, are we talking about a large vehicle like a sea-going ship or something small like a drone?

Great, thanks Bide. I’m thinking of trying to use this on a 1000mm hexacopter. I fly in some harsh high RF environments which usually knocks out the compass of the IMU. With gps antennas, this would help to fly in these environments without risking an IMU malfunction.

It’s interesting, I’m just thinking how to implement this with a Navio2/RasPi2 board. Will need alot of coding I think.

mmmm

1 Like

That is an interesting idea for sure. It makes you wonder how far apart the Reach units would need to be from each other for a reliable result, and yes a lot of coding to process the data quickly enough for your hexacopter. Quite a challenge!

1 Like

I see many issues with such an idea, the biggest being dynamic available. With a 5Hz setting, needed for me to use both GPS and GLONASS, you are able to achieve just 5Hz dynamic, which is quite low for efficient stabilization