Trying to make an UAV glider for Airsoft

Hello everyone!

Since I play Airsoft, I want to make an UAV glider with 3G/4G/LTE connectivity so I can stream video from the Pi Camera to my laptop.

I want to launch the plane from the base and provide reconnaissance to my team during the game. It needs to stay in the air for about half an hour or 45 minutes.

I am a beginner to Navio and a total noob about RC planes and anything related to it. It would be nice if someone could tell me what parts do I need to buy in order to build the plane.

Regarding the video stream, I would like an OSD which shows the battery status and such. I will view it on my laptop that’ll be connected to the internet.

Essentially, I’d set up the auto-pilot to circle around an area and I’d view the camera feed from my laptop.

Is it possible to make this? Here are the parts I came up with:

• Raspberry Pi 3
  • Raspberry Pi camera
  • Camera shielding
  • Emlid Navio2
  • Power module
  • Wire pack
  • GPS/GNSS antenna

I have no idea what frame (and other related components) should I use so I’m asking you to help me.

Thanks a lot everyone :slight_smile:

Very cool idea. Are you sure that this it not considered cheating? :wink:

1. You would need an airframe you can handlaunch.
  2. Something compact and small. Foldable perhaps.
  3. It should also be able to land in a small area,
    deep stall landing or parachute are two options
  4. That leads to a flying wing design.
  5. To fly 30min or longer, you either need to build really light or carry more batteries. I would go for the first option, considering the landing method.