Trouble Connecting Mission Planner to Navio 2

A little background on my project:

I am a senior electrical engineering student and for my senior design project I am working with a team to create an autonomous(or at least semi-autonomous) quadcopter that will retrieve a payload(12 oz can of beer/soda) using a claw mechanism(3d printed) and then deliver this drink to a destination.

As the semester is coming to an end and our testing is coming up VERY soon, we are officially in panic mode and are having issues getting all the software and communication between devices up and running.

Parts(just a few that ill list):
RPi 3 Model B with Navio 2 HAT(mounted on 3d printed anti-vibration board)
3DR 915 MHz (US) Telemetry Radio
5000mah 14.8V 50C 4S1P LiPo battery

MAJOR STOPPING BLOCK RIGHT NOW: Mission Planner connection

I have read through all the documents in the emlid docs section and many forum posts yet I still cannot solve this connection issue. The initial setup in mission planner requires you to update the firmware on the navio however I am under the impression that this is not possible. I have tried to connect the navio through usb to my laptop however it is unrecognizable. I have successfully connected the telemetry in the optional hardware section but when I try to connect in the flight data section it always fails.

EDIT: entered sudo arducopter -C /dev/ttyAMA0
Started getting some crazy looking results on my monitor but then I opened mission planner and it connected to COM3 where my telemetry is plugged and it picked up some GPS but nothing seemed smooth. Also not seen in picture below was the error pos vert variance that was constantly there. Would appreciate a point in the right direction from here thanks!