Testing Reach against Survey Grade Equipment

Hi Everyone,

I’ve been doing some testing with my Reach units and I thought I would share my findings for the benefit of other users.

I’m an electricity surveyor and I’ve been using survey grade GPS for the last 10 years, so I have lots of experience using all types of survey kit.

I purchased my Reach units to use as part of my drone mapping business as I was looking for a system that was light enough to use on a small drone to enable precise geotagging of images.
I must say I was a bit sceptical about the accuracy of the reach system but I must say the results I’m getting are fantastic considering the low cost of the kit.

I fabricated a box to hold the Reach that fits on to a standard Leica tribrach adapter. This allows me to swap out the reach for my survey grade Stonex S9 or Sokkia GRX1 GNSS units.

I set up two tripods and placed the Reach on one and the Stonex on the other. I observed raw data for half an hour then swapped the units over and observed another half hour of data.

Once I had logged raw data I connected the Stonex to TopNet, a network correction service that I subscribe to from Topcon. I averaged 50 observations to get a precise coordinate to compare against the Reach unit.

After downloading the raw data from the Reach I post processed the data using Ordnance Survey RINEX data from a single base station 38km away from my location. This gave me a Q1 solution. I then calculated the median of the Q1 position log to get a single coordinate for each setup.

Results

Reach Setup1 - Lat - 53.04880608 Long - -3.013051639 Elev - 148.7011
Reach Setup2 – Lat - 53.04868874 Long - -3.012711844 Elev - 148.4017
RTK Setup1 - Lat - 53.025529929474 Long - -3.004577134315 Elev - 148.339736
RTK Setup2 - Lat - 53.025570188320 Long - -3.004698505612 Elev - 148.810647