Struggling to get PPK fix with drone & CORS

Hello from a PPK beginner,

I have been working with RTK mapping for a couple of months with a Phantom 4 RTK drone and a Reach RS2+ base located on known points determined via AUSPOS. I need to progress to PPK workflows for sites where RTK is not feasible.

My initial attempts using Emlid studio to process PPK corrections using CORS and drone data have provided very poor results with a 44km baseline. Obviously I am making some basic mistake/s.

The process I have tried involves:

1. Retrieve CORS data - Download relevant rinex MO (observation) and GN (navigation) file from Positioning Australia GNSS Data Repository (https://data.gnss.ga.gov.au/).
  2. Decompress CORS MO and GN files.
  3. Use CRX2RNX.exe to convert MO file from CRX format to rinex.
  4. Download all drone data (obtained with PPK logging active during flight).
  5. Note that the raw Phantom 4 RTK obs file has an incorrect obs end date of 1-1-1970 for a flight yesterday!! It is my understanding that this is a known problem with the Phantom 4 RTK. I have manually edited the obs file to correct the end obs date & time, based on the assumption that Studio will not process the file with an incorrect obs end date.
  6. Open Emlid Studio 1.5, “drone data processing” module and load files as per diagram below.
  7. Processing the data results in a single “fix”, mid flight, out of 237 images (pdf file with Studio settings uploaded).

I would really appreciate some guidance on workflow errors.

Thanks.
Matthew

StudioSettings.pdf (434.8 KB)

44 km is really much too long if you want precise and consistent results with PPK for a drone mission.
Should be kept under 10-15 km in my opinion.

Consider getting your own base station, that gets the absolute position from the cors, and then use the local base for your PPK against the drone.

3 Likes