Station file empty

I am just starting out with Emlid with an RS3. My intended use is to do basic PPK surveys with my own base (non emlid, but not important for this question) for post-processed results from a remote location.

I am able to download the logs onto my computer, where I convert the rinex files into GBP files for my processing software Novatel’s Waypoint Inertial Explorer.

Here I can see the individual epochs as I walked around my driveway surveying test points, which I gave names to within the Emlid Flow app.

However, the .sta file is empty and none of these named points show up in the converted file.

So my questions are…

• Am I saving the points wrong within Emlid Flow? Seems hard to believe: the app asks for a name, I give it one, save it, and it shows up in the map view with that name.

• Is the Rinex file not capturing those named points? I’m saving as rinex 3.03 and when I search the three files in a text editor for the my point names, they do not appear. This seems to be the problem.

• Is Intertial Explorer not finding the named points or converting them? Given that they do not appear in the rinex files, I don’t think Inertial Explorer is the problem.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Matt

Hi Matt,

I am not familiar with Waypoint Inertial Explorer, but you are right that the point names are not saved on the RINEX file. Reach receivers’ raw data logging option does not affect or relate to Emlid Flow’s collector tool in any way. These two functions are independent of each other.

When you enable data logging, only the details you specified on the logging page (Antenna height, Marker name) will be saved on the header of the RINEX file.

2 Likes