Stakeout of existing marks; adjusting accuracy using existing known points

Hi all, I’m a rookie but have read all the docs and before I buy a couple of RS+ I’d love some feedback.

We build waterslides, we always have a surveyor come and set it out for us. Over the construction process a bunch of our setout points get obliterated and need re staking. I’d love to be able to do that ourselves rather than wait for the surveyor, $$ etc.

So my understanding is that I would use a base station over one of my known points that were already surveyed in 3d. Would that be accurate enough with the corrections from the base station (hoping 20mm or so accuracy)? Otherwise if I have a few marks that I have in my dxf file to check is it possible to check them and adjust the errors out of the system before I start setting out marks that are missing? Our footprint would be only a few hundred metres x and y, elevations only a few metres up and down.

Is there a simple way to locate my dxf file and import it into reachview or is there a better app?

Many thanks :slight_smile:

1 Like

If you get the surveyor’s WGS84 coordinates and depending upon how they setup the control you might have to do a site localization in order to get cm accuracy on the points. If they didn’t localize then you should be able to setup the base anywhere, collect their points and stake them out later. This may not be efficient if there are allot of points.

Another option is to bring the DXF into QGIS and extract points from the lines. Problem here is that you probably want offsets in order to protect your points against getting wiped out again. In this case you can offset the linework in CAD and then bring it into QGIS. Once you have those points you can import them into Reachview in the WGS84 format that is required. If you are importing the points you will need to be setup on a known point and manually enter the coordinates into Base Mode.

1 Like