Some basic questions

Hi there,

my name is Bram van Overbeeke and I am a permaculture designer. Permaculture is a design science that aims to supply all of the needs of humanity in a way that benefits the environment in which we live. One of my big passions is landscape design and earthworks. In preparing for the design of the place we just moved to I researched having a RTK GPS map done. It was with great enthusiasm that I found out it is now possible to get an RTK system for very little money! I am already adept at sketchup, and have some knowledge of GPS systems and landscape design. But I don’t know your platform very well and the reading the forums is making my head spin :slight_smile:

So I thought I would put my thoughts into a few questions and hope you have the answers I am looking for.

1. As far as I understand I would need to use a two part system of Base and Rover to map a piece of land accurately. Is this correct? Or is a single Reach RS+ unit enough? I don’t need centimeter accuracy, maybe 10cm is plenty.

2. Will I be able to mix an image of google maps onto the map that gets exported? A Phantom or other drone is a bit out of reach right now and not really needed for basic site design.

3. Can I find previous markers again using the app? Lets say I have previously marked a certain place as a tree planting spot, will I be able to give the tool to someone else and tell them to go find it? Geocaching comes to mind.

4. I hope to manipulate the map in Sketchup and then move the design out into the real world. Lets say I have designed a pond and want to mark out where it should be placed on the ground. Will I be able to find my computer generated GPS references out in the real world? Will I be able to dig and check as I go if the depth of the pond is correct?

I could probably come up with about 200 more questions, but lets just keep it to four right now :slight_smile:

I’m very excited about finding your amazing product. Can’t wait to find out more!