[SOLVED] No GPS-fix with NEO6 USB dongle

Continuing the discussion from No GPS lock with ArduPlane:

Hi everybody.
My setup is: RaspPi2 with Navio+, 3DR telemtery connected over UART, NEO6T-USB dongle with Tallysman GPS Antenna connected.

I followed the instructions to connect to u-center and I’m receiving data “view → binary console”.

But there’s no satellite showing in any maps. I can not get a fix!??

I also see messages coming in over “sudo screen /dev/ttyACM0 9600”:

What else can I try?

If you followed these instructions - http://docs.emlid.com/Navio-dev/GPS-ucenter/ - then you’re connecting to the Navio’s onboard GPS, not the USB dongle. You can connect to the USB dongle by using socat to pass data from /dev/ttyACM0 to tcp port.

I have two issues at the moment:

1. I’m not able to pass the data with socal. I’m new in these things and still have to leran a lot.
    After a lot of trial and error I found the command:

socat TCP-LISTEN:5000,fork /dev/ttyACM0,raw &

But the answer is “Adress already in use”. Can you help me with the correct command?

1. My idea was to connect the Neo-usb-dongle to the Navio+ to get the raw data and thereby RTK-Perfomance. But is it necessary for that at all or can I connect the Tallysman Antenna directly to the Navio+? :grin:
    Then the dongle would be available to build a reference-station!?

Hi Ruprecht!

Could you please specify what exactly you are trying to achieve?

If you want to connect Navio’s onboard GPS unit to the u-center, then follow the docs.

If you want to connect the dongle to the u-center, try either plugging it in directly to your computer or running socat.

General syntax for socat will be socat SOURCE SINK
Something like socat /dev/ttyACM0,raw,echo=0,unlink-close=0 tcp-l:5000,reuseaddr,fork should do

In general, if you are running APM, then you need an external GPS unit for RTK.

Hi Egor.