Simple M2 tripod base setup

Hello folks,

I would like to share my simple DIY cheap M2 base setup for tripod use.

I have been using this receiver for quite a few months, mainly as base for drone PPK survey.

The files are available here:

Gabriel

9 Likes

Hi Gabriel,

Looks cool, I like the color! :relieved:

Just wanted to add that in general, we recommend checking Reach is properly ventilated in such setups. It’s important to ensure everything will work correctly.

Hi Gabriel ! That’s an awesome enclosure for the M2 ! I only see one issue with this… how do you ensure that the unit is level and over the control mark ? I would have thought you would use a tribrach with an optical plummet to have the enclosure mounted to.

You could buy one of these for about $40.00

and if course, the above fits in the tribrach.

The only issue I have with conventional tripods/tribrachs is determining an accurate measurement of the instrument/ARP height. I only use tribrachs for total stations/back sights/level instruments.

Using the set-up you have in the pics, how do you set the unit over a known mark ? That’s the only problem I see with your enclosure.

You would probably be better off buying a prism pole with with tripod legs… that way you could have a fixed height (i. e., 2.000 meters for example) and you would be confident in your base setup as far as your base elevation and horizontal position over the mark. It would also be easier to handle also.

If you use the prism pole with the tripod legs on windy days, get you some sandbags to place on the legs. This will keep your setup from blowing over. This has happened to me on a couple of occasions.

6 Likes

So far so good… no problems yet in >40°C brazilian environment.

3 Likes

Good questions!