Setting up base over benchmark

I am using two Emlid reaches as base and rover and setting up my base over a benchmark (see NGS datasheet)NGS_datasheet.pdf (80.9 KB)

I am leaving the Base coordinates as manual but am having trouble figuring out what coordinates to put in. Online it says coordinate has to be supplied in ECEF XYZ or in WGS84 but the NGS datasheet has it in NAD 83. Would this be the correct coordinate to enter: 1489.19166667, 1509.33111111, -32.143. I used an online converter to convert the decimal degrees listed on the NGS datasheet.

The Cartesian coordinates are on the datasheet, but I don’t know if Emlid expects the ECEF conversion from WGS84?

1 Like

@dmitriy.ershov can you comment on this?

I am not experienced with NAD83 vs WGS84 Lat/Lon, but from my understanding they are pretty much the same. There may be certain areas where shifts have to be factored in, but I just tried to convert your coords and they were the same to the 10-thousandth of a second.

You converted my NAD83 coords to WGS84 and they were the same to 10-thousandth of a second?

2 Likes

I would expect a small translation difference between WGS84 and NAD83, not sure that converter is giving accurate results. On the other hand, if you are going to be needing NAD83 coordinates for the collected points, (eg. if you’re using a State Plane coordinate system which is based on NAD83) I would manually enter the NAD83 coordinates given for the monument so that your results will line up with the local SP system without additional conversion.

1 Like

Could you provide some documentation as to why you think there’s a shift? I’ve always thought the same thing, but everything that I’m finding says that any differences are sub millimeter. The main differences will reside in what vertical datum is used.

WGS84 and NAD83 are currently different by about a meter or two depending on where you are.

Look at the HTDP software from NGS (NGS Geodetic Tool Kit - Tools - National Geodetic Survey -)