Setting the base in remote locations

Hi, I’ll be doing some surveying of Ground control points for photogrammetry in a very remote location in Africa. There’s no internet signal or telefone signal available. There are also no known points of interest with known coordinates that I can use.

How should I proceed to setup the base in these areas and get an accurate base location before start surveying with the rover?

(I’m very new to this)

Thanks
Luis

First of all, if you’re not confident in the methodology/process of what you are trying to do, you better either take a crash course on land surveying or take someone with you who is knowledgeable in land surveying, familiar with the use of GNSS equipment and has experience in providing accurate photo target coordinates using RTK or PP capabilities. The work will not just end in the field.

It would not be good to have to revisit the remote site because of your lack of knowledge.

Install permanent mark for the base for future reference, measure instrument height to ARP (antenna reference point), take pictures of base site, bring compass/tape for base site orientation (draw sketch of base site), log base data for a minimum of 8 hours or longer (preferably dual frequency data) and submit data to AUSPOS or Canadian PPP service.

Are the targets in clear unobstructed skies, wiil they be permanent long enough for the flight ? How are you locating the photo targets ? Are the targets within radio range of the base receiver ? How long are the baseline distances from the local base to the photo targets ? If not using radio RTK, sufficient observation time for each target should be a minimum of 30 minutes. If baseline distances are exceeding 5 km, I would recommend a minimum of at least 1 hour per photo target. Make sure you also measure the ARP of your rover for all the photo targets.

Keep good notes ! You may have to revisit the site someday. Good luck !

2 Likes

Hi again and thanks for the quick reply.