RTK - Base with Unknown Point - CORS

I am just getting started with Drone Mapping. I have a RS2 and a Mavic 3E Drone. My question has to do with RTK with a unknown point for the base. Many of my job sites don’t have a known point. I believe one solution is to set up the base for an extended period of time and run the data thru OPUS. The issue with this is I don’t always have the time to wait 4 hours+.

If I don’t have a known point, can I use the CORS network with the Base to get my fixed solution? Example: Base is connected to my iphone hotspot and is pulling corrections from the CORS network. The drone is connected to my iphone hotspot to the base thru “Local NTRIP”.

This is where i’m confused. If I use this solution, does the RS2 base even need a ground point for this to work? Does it even matter the height of the RS2 relative to the ground below since we are pulling data from the CORS network?

the good news is my understanding is growing form this community. Im getting close! :slight_smile:

Hi Chris! Yes, you can certainly use CORS to accomplish this depending on your baseline from the CORS to your project site and your project’s accuracy and quality assurance requirements. Can you share these?

If you are relatively close to the CORS, your best bet may be to connect the Mavic directly to the CORS NTRIP. Then your fix it to a likely first order benchmark (depends on the CORS).