RS2 Lora corrections

I have been using 2 RS2 for a couple of years now and need to get some clarity on accuracy of these units with no NTRIP service. I use 1 unit as the base and the rover is mounted on a geophysics device. If I average my base for 20 to 30mins and broadcast corrections over Lora radio, I was under the impression that this would provide relatively accurate results to 0.5m or so. I am finding that the unit accuracy is more like 2m to 3m in this configuration.
As most of my surveys take place in fields with no known points and NTrip is not an option due to cost. How long should I be averaging to achieve 0.5m accuracy or better.

1 Like

Hi James,

Using averaged single for your base point, your rover points are never going to be globally accurate. But as I understand it, your rover point should be relatively accurate to your base point.
For example, if you average on a point with your base for 30 minutes, and then send corrections to a rover from that point, and then next week, you set up the base and rover on the same points as before, and you use the same base point coordinates as the first time, you should be getting “relative to the base” the same coordinate for the rover as before.
Is that what you are doing?

6 Likes

You need to understand relative accuracy vs positional accuracy. It sounds like you are looking for positional accuracy. If so the way to do that is log static data at the base then submit to a post processing application like opus then translate your rover points to the new base location.

The rover is always related to the base.
Under your scenario its makes no difference if you average for 1 second or an hour. You are only getting relative accuracy. You will have to observe longer (static files) preferably multiple times and post process to get positional accuracy.

4 Likes

Hi Dave