RS2 + Field Genius for Android 2.02.6610 Build 2021-10-28

I have Field Genius connected and working with my RS2. The issue I am having is in the stake out mode, when I click the DIRECTION+DISTANCE button, it all crashes. This is ONLY when connected to my RS2. It works before I connect. Any ideas? I can’t add a photo.

2 Likes

yah the android version has had some crashing issues. Maybe contact there support team, they are a awesome team

3 Likes

What data collector/device are you using?

Samsung A32 phone

Yeah that should be just fine. What I think is happening is that there is a memory leak in the data the receiver is collecting. It’s causing an overflow of the RAM and getting shut down by the system. I am not a software engineer but that is what I keep getting from my device’s logs. I need to try switching phones and see if it continues to happen because this was supposed to have been corrected two versions ago.

3 Likes

I’m also still experiencing crashes with the Android latest (2.02.5510) version. Was hoping that this version would have fixed the problem. At least I haven’t lost any data so far with this version. Being a bit gun shy of losing data, as soon as I have noticed a slow down in the app, I have proactively shut it down and rebooted the app. Probably about every 10-15 minutes or so. Taking about 3mins to reboot and load the project. Even taking those steps, it has all of sudden crashed on me.

It has also just started losing the connection to the receiver when shooting some points, I lost the connection with the rover about 3-4 times and 5-6 crashes in about a four hour period when testing today. Project size doesn’t seem to matter, it can happen on a 100pt or a 1000pt project.