RS2 Drone GCP’s Location Info

I am new to drone mapping. I need a solution to get the coordinates of all my GCP’s without having a known location point.

If I want to record my Drone GCP’s can I use a single RS2 or do I need a base station and rover? I have no public CORS network in my state. I can’t afford a NTRIP subscription of $500 / Mo.

Thanks

1 Like

Sorry, double post :frowning:

I would suggest simply doing PPK with a known base in your area. Log your GCPs for 1-2minutes each with the reach view 3 app and be sure to have rover logging on. If you cannot afford the VRS subscription (by the way $500/year is quite cheap compared to most pay for networks), I would just post-process. What is your approximate baseline from where you intend to work/rove to the nearest publicly available base (that’s continuously logging of course)? What would be even better is to get a base/rover setup and process the base off the permanent public base and then process your Emlid base off the public base in Emlid studio (static). Then do stop and go processing using the rover log file against your base (but be sure to update the header with your processed Emlid base corrected position). Lastly, you’ll reference the genereated .pos file (with the corrected base position in the header) against the reach view 3 generated CSV. Boom. No need for RTK or NTRIP connections.

We are in the same boat in Texas. Personally I think it is 100% worth it but we are out there every day on 2 or 3 missions and not having to setup a base, let it bake and tear it down pays for itself quickly. Less time messing with transformations in the office as well.

To answer your question though yes you will need a base and rover at some point even if you have NTRIP to CORS.

2 Likes

“What is your approximate baseline from where you intend to work/rove to the nearest publicly available base (that’s continuously logging of course)? “

Most locations are within 10 miles of the Omaha location.