RS2 as permanent base station with SNIP NTRIP caster

A friend of mine is looking to setup a RS2 as a permanent base station, we need it to use a relay stream over the internet to the server running SNIP NTRIP caster software, I would like to know if this is possible, Thanks, Ian

Hi Ian!

The workflow that you described should work fine.

Reach RS2 can be connected to the NTRIP caster directly, in this case, there’s no need in TCP connection.

Also, Reach RS2 can send its position via TCP to a server with a public IP address. In this case, you should configure the Position output and specify the port number. Please, check this section in our docs for more details.

The rs2 will be 15 km away from the server, so we need to put it through a relay stream over tcp

Hi Ian,

I recently experimented with setting up an RS2 As a base station using snip-lite as a caster. There was a small learning curve as I’m new to snip and I set it up on a VM on Microsoft’s Azure platform (so there were cloud computing considerations in the configuration). It worked great once I got it up and running. It can definitely work if the server is located 15km from the base as long as the base has access to internet (I’m located 1000’s of km from the server and my correction delay is often less than 3s on my rover). A few notes:

1. setting up the base to connect to snip was simple, there is a section in the ReachView base tab where you indicate the NTRIP Server to connect to and name the mount point. This connection was direct to the caster over the internet and set up in snip on the ‘caster’ Tab. I’m not sure about the use case you mention of setting up as a ‘relay stream’ as I understood from the snip documentation that a relay stream is used when you want to connect a snip Server to another Snip server (or other RTCM server).

2. I used a SIM card with a data connection over 3G to connect with the server. But it should work fine if you wanted to connect the base over WiFi as well.