RS+ as Base with RS2 Rover (suburban location)

I have read previous threads on this subject and wanted to followup with my own situation since I am new to the topic of surveying.

Is it possible to use a RS+ as a Base on a suburban street (most of the time I would be able to get 200+ feet away from tree canopy) with a RS2 as the Rover performing data logging around suburban homes (2 story) and canopy trees (some 50+ feet tall) within a 2-6km radius of the Base? My intent is to have multiple (2-4 units) RS2 Rovers logging off the RS+ Base every day.

I am asking in order to reduce expenses, provide durability for daily use, and all while obtaining most precise data points.

Thank you for your input.

Nick B

1 Like

It will work But you will not get the benefit of the RS2 rover , You need a RS2 as a base to get good results

1 Like

Is there a way to get the L1 base free of obstructions ? Like on top of a building would be an ideal location. The problem with L1 receivers is multi-path, they need a full sky with no obstructions. If you have a limited sky view with the RS+, then you will have a large amount of cycle slips (lost data) and the rovers RS2 will have a hard time getting fix in already challenging areas. If the base doesn’t get a fixed position, then the rovers won’t either. The solution would be to use a RS2 (multi frequency) receiver for the base. You will get better fixes in the bad areas.

RTK in challenging areas with canopy and limited sat view is always a hit and miss proposition. Also, you may not have a “fixed” position when it shows “fixed” without some kind of verification. I would use your “fixed” postions in difficult areas with caution.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. It does seem like I will just be better off with two RS2 units.

Since I am suburban, am I able to utilize CORS with a sub foot degree of precision and an ability to continually keep a connection?