Reading data from Castle ESC approach help

Hello all, I am using Navio2 for research purposes and have an atypical setup including a Castle Mamba Micro X ESCs powering sensored motors. I would like some direction as to how to read in ESC data using Castle Link Live protocol:
(https://dzf8vqv24eqhg.cloudfront.net/userfiles/4671/6540/ckfinder/files/Product%20Manuals/Accessories%20and%20replacement%20parts/castle_link_live_2_0.pdf?dc=201606221536-537)

I am running:
Raspberry Pi 3
Emlid Raspbian 20170323
APM:Copter V3.4.6 (5221448a)

I have been considering using ROS and creating my own node that decodes the information and shoots it over to GCS which is running Mission Planner BTW.
However I have little experience with 2 way communications and need to use the protocol for 4 ESCs. I am not even sure how to connect the ESC to the Navio/Pi such that I have 2 way communication with all 4 ESCs. That would be the first advice I would like. I been researching UART and I2C and SPI protocols but am clueless as to implementing. Also I found some code capaverde made for the Arduino, he seems to use I2C with his controller as master.

post #500

I am also aware that I can buy 4 $90 serial links from Castle that will convert Castle Link Live to I2C or whatever else I may want, but due to budget reasons I would like to avoid this.

Seriously any advice on how to accomplish this will be helpful, I will need to use the data later to modify arducopter controls for a different operation regime.

Best,
-ilbs