Reach RS2 relative accuracy problem

Kia orana everyone

I am a civil engineer (no surveyor, so excuse my ignorance :wink: ) in the south pacific and purchased two reach RS2 recently to acquire the location of assets on very remote islands.

My problem is that I am unable to set-out a previously measured point correctly (less than 200mm) the closest I get is about 1m.

Setup:
Both RS2 were started up, connected to Emlid flow app and updated to the latest firmware.
Base setup: Positioning mode : Static, 1Hz Update; correction input: off; correction output LoRa
Rover setup: Positioning mode : Kinematic, 5Hz Update; correction input:LoRa correction output: off
Status on both is over 30 satellites and the rover is receiving corrections.

Methodology:
First I created a project, set the coordinate system to WGS 84 / UTM Zone 4S (Cook Islands) and the vertical datum to EGM2008 height.
Next I used the Rover in single mode and recorded a temporary survey mark (nail in concrete) within my project.
Next, I setup the Base over the temp survey mark, measure the height and then in base settings change the coordinate entry method to ā€˜Manualā€™ and load the previously recorded point.
Then I setup the Rover again and wait for the 'beep" to ensure everything is connected and ready.
With that in place I take a control point and save it in the project.

After that I turn everything off and on again, loading the same location point for the base again.

When I then try to set out my saved control point, I am always between 1-3m away from the exact location. The elevation also fluctuates widely and sometimes tells my I am 10m below the original point.

I would really appreciate any help to get this right.

Thanks
Felix

1 Like

Hi Felix.