Reach RS2 impressions

I got another unit from Thomas and it works great! I use GPS for other things than most people, I do pipe and cables and utility location and mapping. I have been using Trimble for a few years because some of the software for utility programs was dependent on a Trimble Receiver, I.E R8, and Trimble Access with my NetR5 ntrip base. Also Trimble 6000 XH with Terrasync. But the yearly fees for hardware and software will kill you if you don’t pay some event will come along and your stuff will not handle it and you are forced to pay. As I have changed my programs over to a lot of Android apps there have been stupid little things like no bluetooth NMEA streaming or control of the exact messages not allowed or needing another license to work that is when I decided to try the Emlid RS2, it has Bluetooth streaming to connect to android and good specs. I can share it between apps as a NMEA stream. Yes I found a few bugs in the android app to control the RS2 but you can and should use the Laptop Interface. As time goes on as the android bugs get taken care of this will be a wonderful device at a good cost. The fix comes in very fast and under city sidewalk trees it did a nice job of keeping a fixed position or getting it back fast when lost. 2 thumbs up from me.

7 Likes

A couple pictures of the RS2 being used on my locator cart.

3 Likes

Impressive. Just curious , how do you level the cart when working on slopes ? There is no tilt compansation in reachview yet , That I know of.:smile:

1 Like

Same here