Reach M+ WiFi issues with Navio2

I have a new Reach M+, Navio2, and Reach RS+. Reach RS+ and Navio2 seem to work as expected independently. I am having trouble with Reach M+. I can’t seem to get it to connect to my network while connected to the Raspberry Pi 3 B+(the one hosting the Navio2) while using USB. If i power the Reach M+ from my laptop or independent USB power source it seems to work - correctly connect to my wifi network. The Web UI is a bit slower to load than i would expect but I have never worked with one of these before.

If powering through my RPi I have noticed that Reach M+ indicates that it’s connected to my network (slow blink blue light, solid orange and green) but the IPV4 address assigned by my router is not accessible. In the Reach app will show the Reach M+ but only with an IPV6 address and is not accessible as long as it’s powered via USP through Raspberry Pi. I have tried powering the Raspberry Pi via BEC and independent USB power source but seems to make no difference. The only thing that seems to work is if i power the Reach via USB separately from the RPi. The docs show the Reach M+ connected to the Raspberry Pi using USB and explicitly indicate not to use a separate power source for the M+ so i’m really lost. Anyone experienced this and know of a solution?

I have tried re-flashing and multiple attempts at adding and clearing the network.

ReactView version: 2.18.1

Looking through the forums and internet I found this post which seems very similar. I’m going to try to power the Reach via external USB and use the UART cable to pass data to Navio2. It’s disappointing because a simple USB cable for power and data reduce all the extra things needed to supplement the power for Reach M+.

Hi @beeeeee,

I’ll try to reproduce your issue and write back to you once there is any news.

Hi @beeeeee,

I’ve tested Reach M+ powering from RPi USB port, and it seems to work fine. Have you tried this connection using other cables?