Reach + Adafruit Feather 32u4 RFM95 LoRa Radio-

Hi all
Im new to Reach, I just followed the quick start guide, I was able to make base+rover get a fix possition over WLan
Next step is to test the devices on the field and get data to post process.

I was sure that I had 2 3dr Radios, but I dont
But what I do have is a Adafruit Feather 32u4 RFM95 LoRa Radio that have an amazing rage
and a pair of SX1278 connected to a ESP32 running arduino , they also work great, just in 433mhz

As I understand the data bewteen rover+base is only one way… I would like to capture the data of the base, send it to an esp32 over serial, and use the Esp to send it to SX1278 over Lora, the other ESP32 will do the opposite job.
I can do it with the Adafruit Feather 32u4 RFM95 also, but my question is…

Does it make a difference if the package arrives a few miliseconds latter from the base to the rover?
How long is the string that is sent from the Base to the Rover, and does it have any “ending” character ?
I not sure if I can send lora packages byte by byte, thats why I was thinking in parsing a group of characters, but Im not sure how long they are… I did not found any topic related to Lora+Arduino+Reach, but Im sure this is not a “new” idea… ca you guys point me to what topics/documentacion should I read before start this ?

2 Likes

I think this will be quite easy if you use a UART connection. RTCM3 corrections are binary, so no need to parse them. Our docs contain some info on the bps rates.

The small delay should not matter, the important thing is for the corrections to arrive regularly and in a stable fashion.

Great, so I can just configure my arduino sketch to send each byte by LoRa radio,no matter what is the message…
I will give it a try and let you guys know.

It works, I have done it using a similar method (UART + LoRa 433Mhz), using a hard coded data rate.

But could not find the time to share.