Putting Experience to Use

Hey All! Well today unfortunately I got caught by layoffs with no notice and no longer work for Chasco. I have been thinking about starting my own business so I guess here we go. If anyone has any advice on starting your own business i’d really appreciate it! I know I can count on my Emlid peeps for wisdom!

11 Likes

Damn, I’m sorry Michael. From my understanding from all you do in your posts, I thought you where pretty high up in the company infrastructure.

I wish you luck ! Being a business owner myself (continuing the family business), make sure you have someone do all the payroll. We have used PAYCHEX for at least 10 years. No worries about filing quarterly taxes/reports. They do it all. Make sure you get a good accountant. I was burned by an ex-employee with a college degree in accounting. Still paying the IRS for that mistake !!

We have 3 employees (excluding me) and everyone knows what to do every day. Good employees are your best asset. We pretty much run smoothly every day.

There’s downsides to being self-employed, you have a boss if you don’t realize it, it’s your customers You can’t really take-off whenever… you’ll have too much to think about. Just realize that God put you in this world for a purpose. And it seems He gave you the knowledge in what you do.

7 Likes

This was great but at the end of the day my only boss was the owner and when you don’t see eye-to-eye it can be a pretty knee-jerk reaction. I guess I did my job too well by building departments and training people to take my place. I was the 3rd person to get the chop and one of the others was our excavation supervisor so some pretty effective lay-offs.

God does have a plan and He’s been in my ear for about two months so I am not 100% surprised. Thanks for the great advice!

4 Likes

Sorry to hear that Michael, you are still a pillar of community and helped me with some good tips regarding my surveying workflow.