Precise positioning for Google Maps

Hello,

I just ordered my Reach RS+ to benefit Friday discount. But I am not sure if this equipment is what I am looking for yet. I am a farmer and I want to identify locations of my lands. So I need an improved gps coverage for my tablet (android or apple) to identify exact locations of my lands on Google Maps

Locations of my lands have already been imported in Google Maps in KML format. So I need a precise positioning for Google Maps

Does Reach RS+ provides precise positioning for my tablet?

That depends on your RTK/PPK setup (and thus your choice of reference).

Here is a good starting point:

Welcome @milo.deepdelver! A few clarifications…

Using just a tablet or for your machine(s) as well?

We need to understand that exact on Google Earth or Maps is about 10 meters.

What exactly is being imported? A picture, a georeferenced image (drone), CAD linework or plat and etc…

From what I gather I don’t the the Reach RS+ and Reachview by themselves are going to do what you are looking for since it doesn’t have background maps, but once you clarify we can get you some better guidance.

1 Like

Hi Milo,

As Michael pointed out, it’d be easier for us to answer your questions if you elaborated on your workflow.

Reach RS+ provides the centimeter-level accuracy for working in RTK. In RTK, your rover will determine its position with centimeter accuracy only if it receives corrections from the base, either local one or a remote NTRIP station.

Please note that Google Maps are not super accurate.

Also, you can check all of the formats that it’s possible to download from the Reach RS+ Survey tab here. For any other formats, you’ll need to convert your data.

@milo.deepdelver

Hi!