PPM rcio RCinput not working with Navio+ and APM, Radio receiver goes green for Binding

So my rcio does not appear to be working at all. I get the “RC Not Calibrated” error. No RC response in apmplanner. Below is the output of a bunch of commands that may help diagnose problem. What am I missing? I am still new to the world of Quads and to Emlid.

hardware setup:
QUAD 450mm build, Raspberry2, Navio+ bolted on.
frsky x8r receiver <–> frsky sbus to cppm converter <–> navio+ PPM connection
Receiver power supplied by PPM connection, so cable installed with signal circuit wired correctly.

apmplanner2 does show the quad responding to movement of pitch yaw roll. So, yea, WiFi connection is working along with some of the sensors on Navio+.

The radio binds to the receiver on powerup. i.e. receiver goes green after a few flashes of red.
0 is response to “sudo cat /sys/kernel/rcio/status/live”

directory /sys/kernel/rcio/rcin shows 16 chx and connected files.
All only show “0” when “sudo cat”, move radio transmitter controls, still “0”

I downloaded the newest img from the emlid website. So latest RT image. What ever APM version that was on img.
uname -a
Linux navio 4.4.6-4d0ae01-emlid-v7+ #3 SMP PREEMPT Wed Apr 6 13:25:26 MSK 2016 armv7l GNU/Linux

output of lsmod:
Module Size Used by
btrfs 1023918 0
xor 5530 1 btrfs
xor_neon 2900 1 xor
raid6_pq 94084 1 btrfs
zlib_deflate 20290 1 btrfs
cpufreq_stats 3463 0
cfg80211 438534 0
rfkill 15930 2 cfg80211
rcio_spi 2576 0
rcio_core 2231 1 rcio_spi
8192cu 518065 0
rcio_rcin 2184 1 rcio_core
rcio_adc 1556 1 rcio_core
rcio_pwm 2711 1 rcio_core
rcio_status 1545 1 rcio_core
bcm2835_gpiomem 3036 0
i2c_bcm2708 4770 0
spi_bcm2835aux 4779 0
spi_bcm2835 7222 0
bcm2835_wdt 3225 0
uio_pdrv_genirq 3100 0
uio 8256 1 uio_pdrv_genirq
i2c_dev 5859 2

Is there any test software that will see what is coming in on the PPM port from the raspberry PI side of things?