PPK tips and tricks with far CORS data

Hello Emlid community,
I am a marine biologist (totally foreign to these issues before discovering Emlid) and since about two years I started working with aerial UAS mapping.
I would like to ask you some opinion and suggestion about PPK data deriving from my Reach Rs+ units and Rinex files from a CORS. I apologize in advance because maybe I will ask some trivial questions but since previously I was able to get awesome results thanks to your suggestions, I am really motivated to ask again :slight_smile:

My scenario is the following:

• Two Reach RS+ units used to collect GCPs before aerial mapping in RTK mode
  • A CORS station very far from me 150 Km but without particular obstruction because I work on an Island.

My trials gave to me some difficult results to understand given my poor knowledge. So please help me to better understand this odd word_:slight_smile:

So by using RtkPost, I processed the data deriving from my Rover unit against CORS Rinex and I achieved a very good result (with 99.8% FIX solutions which is quite unexpected given the long baseline) but only when I use the following settings regarding Ionosphere and Ephemeris.

However, I learned that with Precise Ephemerids available at ftp://igs.ensg.ign.fr/pub/igs/products/ the results should be improved, so I downloaded rapid ephemeris file (igr-number of the GPS day-.sp3) some day after my survey (igu, that is ultra rapid are available almost immediately but rapid should be better from my knowledge). I changed only these settings in Rtkpost and the results seemed to get worse. As you can see below the Fixed solution percentage dropped at 88.9%

Moreover when I tried to compare both results (green e blue points are the fixed solution) in RTkPlot I noticed that the my tracks along which I collected GCPs are shifted more than 1 m each other.